NASCAR Unveils "Air Titan" Track-Drying Technology

Less than eight months ago, NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France tasked the team at the NASCAR Research and Development Center in Concord, N.C., with developing a means to shorten the delay caused by rain. The reasons for the initiative were many, but at the top of the list: Fans, whether in the grandstands or watching on television, should not have to wait long before racing resumes following a downpour. NASCAR announced today Phase 1 of France's vision, introducing the Air Titan™ track drying system that will debut during Speedweeks at Daytona International Speedway. This innovative technology, steeped in science and created by the NASCAR R&D Center, will reduce track drying time, improve the racing product and enhance the fan experience.

More Videos...

The Science of Applied Structural Drying: Part 8 Evaporation
After you remove the excess moisture, you need to get hot dry air to the water. The goal is to increase the vapor pressure of the water in wet material above the vapor pressure of the air in the affected area. This causes evaporation.


The Science of Applied Structural Drying: Part 2
Part two of the presentation covers humidity, relative humidity, and specific humidity.

The Science of Applied Structural Drying: Part 5 Vapor Pressure
Vapor Pressure: the pressure extorted by a vapor at a given temperature. Vapor pressure relates to a liquid's propensity to leave the liquid state and become a vapor. For example, rubbing alcohol has a much higher vapor pressure than water, and will vaporize much more quickly.